The Law Institute has its headquarters in Lögberg (University of Iceland's Law Faculty).
Telephone number: +354525-5203.
E-mail address:
Opening hours 08.00-12.00 and 13.00-.17.00.

All academic employees of the Law Faculty are a part of the Law Institute,  as well as those working temporarily on individual research projects on behalf of the institute.

Háskóli Íslands María Thejll , director.
Telephone +354 525 5203/+354 863 2525.



Háskóli ÍslandsArnaldur Hjartarson LL.M., expert.
Telephone +354 525 5189.



The Law Institute is a scientific research centre operated by the University of Iceland and is part of the Law Faculty. It has been in operation since 1974 and operates according to regulations from 2010. The intitute is a forum for research and development in law. Role of the Law Institute is primarily to promote and support any kind of research and teaching in the field of law. 

MOUs have been signed with law firms, organizations and associations to strengthen individual research projects and research results have been published in the book series of the institute. Institute of Law has received external funding to operate three research positions since 2005, most recently by the Financial Supervisory Authority, which funds the position of one specialist for two years from 1 January 2014. 

The Law Institute assists with grant applications, manages research projects and other projects related to research in law, such as academic publication in a book series, conferences, seminars and open meetings. 

The insitute also provides legal research services such as papers and reports for the Icelandic parliament, ministries, public insitutions and unions, and is in charge of continuing education courses for attorneys, lawyers and other professionals. The institute has also undertaken on behalf of the Icelandic parliement and the Home Office to write and publish  material informing the public regarding the issues put forward in the three national referendum, held in Iceland in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Two research centres operate within the Law Institute, Research Centre of European Law and Research Centre of Environmental and Natural Resources Law

The board is composed of four Faculty employees and one student representative.


Þú ert að nota: